Coil pots 

The coil pot technique has been around for many thousands of years. It ranges from Africa to Greece and from China to New Mexico. Today we had a tester session on making one ourselves. The reason for this task was to give us another option of what to do in our final proposal. It also let us gain experience with working with ceramics and experimenting with the tools.

Equipment:

  • Buff clay
  • Potters knife
  • Rolling pin
  • Wooden board
  • Fabric sheet
  • Apron

Process:

img_0102

1) Roll out a 1cm thick base layer using the guides to help determine the thickness.

img_0103-1

2) By hand roll out the first coil and attach using the velcro technique (scoring and crosshatching the area where the coil will be paced then add slip). All coils should be equal sizes.

3) For each coil added mold it into the previous one, this then thurms and strengthens the pot.

4) This process is repeated until it meets your desired height/shape.

img_0106

5) Then when finished use a kidney tool to smoothen the walls of the pot.

6) When all stages are complete you can add other details onto your pot.

I feel I grasped the technique very quickly and therefore I had a chance to create a triptych of small candle holder like pots. Personally I think they went to plan, however, as the clay began to dry it became harder to work with this resulted in the walls of my pot to crack. I solved this by adding water and molding them back together. I kept my small pots very simple adding no other decorations other than the rippling of the pot walls. I wasn’t initially inspired by anything, but I began to play around with the rims of my pots and they took the shape of the clam shell. Overall I was pleased with the final outcome. The only thing would have done differently is make them a larger scale maybe making a tryptic of large bowls.

clam-1024x685 img_0108

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

